There are many reasons you should love “F.R.I.E.N.D.S.”

26th of July, 2016, 12:29 P.M.

Oh, hello! I was thinking what I can write about and while I was watching “Friends” and making checklist to LA, I decided. Of course, “Friends”!

friends2

TV show was created by David Crane and Marta Kauffman as well as produced by Warner Bros. Stories and dramas about six friends living in New York became amazing hit all over the world. Everybody loved, loves and will love Monica, Rachel, Phoebe, Chandler, Joey and Ross. It’s obvious that “Friends” actually created their own brand labelled by the show and became a huge piece of popculture.

Ten seasons, twenty-two episodes each. Huge story. I’m not gonna spoil anything, besides I know that most of people definitely watched “Friends”. Maybe not every episode, but couple.

I’m writing this, because I wanna show you the reasons why you should definitely watch this excellent tv show. And no, it’s not the piece of art. No, it’s not some highly bright and super intelligent tv show. So why is it so good? Because it’a about normal people with silly problems. And let’s be honest. Each of us has some silly problems that are the biggest and hardest in our life.

Friends

FRIENDS:Season 2 – Pictured: (l-r) Matthew Perry as Chandler Bing, Jennifer Aniston as Rachel Green, David Schwimmer as Ross Geller, Courteney Cox as Monica Geller, Matt LeBlanc as Joey Tribbiani, Lisa Kudrow as Phoebe Buffay (Photo by NBC/NBCU Photo Bank via Getty Images)

Let’s start with, in my opinion, one of the most important thing. Every episode of “Friends” is as funny as sad, filled with various emotions. Let’s take the episode  “The One Hundredth”  also known as “The One With The Triplets”. Phoebe is going to give a labor to three kids, that are gonna be her brother’s kids. She decided to help him that way, because Frank Jr. couldn’t have kids with her partner Alice. Phoebe, laying down in the hospital bed, is considering taking one baby for herself. Rachel is trying to explain to her that is not possible. The moment when Phoebe has to say “bye” to the babies is really, really touching. But in the same time, we have really funny moments with Phoebe’s doctor who is obssesed with Fonzy from “Happy Days”. As you can see, 20 minutes of episode is filled with emotions. Mostly with laughing, but sometimes with tears.

Writing about “Friends”, I just have to say about the fact that each character taught me something. In the Internet you can see many photos or articles about that, but I’m gonna tell you my personal things they taught me. Some of them are the same, some other are different. Monica Geller (Courteney Cox) definitely showed me that you can live peacefully with your OCD and sometimes it’s helpful, because you have very “tidy” life routine thanks to it. Rachel Green (Jennifer Aniston) taught me that sometimes material things can make you happy. Not entirely, but they can improve your mood. Phoebe Buffay (Lisa Kudrow) taught me that just because you’re different and crazy doesn’t mean you’re a bad, worse human. No, it’s even better when you’re different because then you’re special. Chandler (Matthew Perry) showed me that it’s completely okay to laugh at your friends and at yourself as long as you don’t hurt people and you’re good person. Joey (Matt LeBlanc) taught me that you have to pick the goal in your life and pursue this, no matter what and no matter how hard it is. And Ross (David Schwimmer) taught me it’s okay to fight for your right as long as you can admit you were wrong.

12088173_10153269075939576_727756498330368488_n

As you can see, there are many things you can realize, watching “Friends”. I also realized that the best relationship you will have when you are in love with your best friend. Two examples – Monica and Chandler along with Rachel and Ross. Those two couples showed me that relationship goals while you can play stupid and love hard, all together, all in once. – They’re lobsters. – Phoebe once said about Rachel and Ross. Why? Because lobsters are couples for their whole life.

Do you know how sometimes you feel horrible, you had a bad day or you had an argument with someone? Well, “Friends” make you feel better. ALWAYS. You have my word. No matter how hard my life is in some point, it’s enough to pick an episode, turn it on and I’m happier, I feel lighter and think brighter.

In previous semester on my journalism studies, I had this subject, popculture. My collegue prepared presentation about sitcoms and she had “Friends” as one of many examples. Then she said, that “Friends” actually was the first tv show in 90s which showed people that not everything is perfect, not everybody has somebody, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad. I completely agree with that. Thanks to that, people realized that they can choose they way the live and society can bite their asses.

23-friends-cover-story-lede.w750.h560.2x

When I’m talking about that point, I also have to say about the whole relationship thing. Because if you’re single that doesn’t mean you have to be unhappy or look for someone desperately. No. You can be happy, have amazing job and true friends. Time by time, you will find someone you love. Or they will find you.

Each of us had or has troubles with their parents. We love them and we always will, but sometimes they are so annoying! Well, well, everyone has troubles with them. Even characters in tv shows have them. And believe me, it makes you feel a lot better. Many times during watching some episode, I was claping and saying. – Oh yes! Monica, I completely understand you. Because let’s be honest, Judy Geller (Christina Pickles) wasn’t the easiest mom.

Judy Geller: [about Rachel] Well, at least she had the chance to leave a man at the altar.
Monica Geller: What’s that supposed to mean?
Judy Geller: Nothing. It’s an expression.
Monica Geller: No, it’s not.

As you can see, there are many, many reasons to watch “Friends”. And the best thing is, it never get bored. I watched every episode couple times, I know almost every line from the show and I have t-shirt with Ross and Rachel. I’m a big fan of “Friends” and I promise you, you will too. Just give it a chance. Also, on plus there is awesome song at the beginning, especially for the show: The Rembrandts – I’ll be there for you. Check it out!

I hope I convinced you, even a little. Right now, I’ll go to watch something. Maybe “Friends”?

12065975_10153269070604576_6887783863353200269_n

Zoshu

5 comments

  1. i love f.r.i.e.n.d.s…. it’s a bestest show on tv.
    i have watched show more then 7 times in sequence… whenever i fell low or sad or i free i watch it….

    Like

Leave a Reply

